Potatoes and Peaches

Things I Make that Make Me Happy

Adventures in Sprouting

Posted by potatoesnpeaches on March 21, 2009

I have always had a somewhat tenuous relationship with sprouts. I love to eat them, I do. When I was little I would make my mom buy me the big fat sprouts, I still don’t know what kind they are, but they’re the kind one is likely to find in your average supermarket. I would eat them plain for a few days, forget about them, and they would go bad, and my mom would be mad, and the cycle would repeat itself, evolving into me being the one buying the sprouts, not eating them, getting mad, and repeating all over. Now it’s at the point where I just feel sad when I see them in the store because I want them, but know I won’t eat them.

Why won’t I eat them? What is wrong with me?

But, then, I was reading about happyveganface‘s sprouting efforts and she seemed so excited (she always seems excited, it is adorbs), and a friend was telling me that lately she was eating the same meal over and over and it included some spicy sprouts. I didn’t even know sprouts came in different flavors, people. Out of curiosity I checked out Sproutpeople. Then I was really overwhelmed and had to look away. Then I looked in very small doses until I was comfortable reading the site for whole minutes at a time. There is just a crazypants amount of information on that site! Fast-forward, I bought the basic jar kit and feel it has changed my life.

I started with the broccoli seeds after using a complex algorithm of irrationality and impatience to get started. And I took pictures.

Day 1. You can see one little seed has popped there in the center of the photo.

Day 1. You can see one little seed has "popped" there in the center of the photo.

Day 3. Theyre alive!

Day 3. They're alive!

Day 4. Sprouting like a hurricane

Day 4. Sprouting like a hurricane

De-Hulled, Rinsed, and Very Happy. Those things in the background are imaginary.

De-Hulled, Rinsed, and Very Happy. Those things in the background are imaginary.

Perched on some Spicy Tofu & Spelt Salad, waiting to fulfill their desting and be eaten.

Perched on some Spicy Tofu & Spelt Salad, waiting to fulfill their desting and be eaten.

The broccoli sprouts were an unqualified success! They’re tasty too, a nice mild flavor good on pretty much everything. I put them on Spicy Tofu & Spelt Salad, a Food Bowl of brown rice, spinach, bell pepper, chickpeas, and lemon tahini sauce, some stir fry, they are delicious. I’ve also given some away to friends because as much as I like them and am actually eating them(!), there are just way too many for just me by my lonesome. But it’s totally worth it. I could never have predicted that I would take so much pleasure in eating something only if I grew it myself. This is probably why I shouldn’t have a baby.

2 Responses to “Adventures in Sprouting”

  1. Anika said

    Sprouts! Not my favorite either…until I was in NYC and this organic juice bar was serving them up in a very tasty way:

    Spouted wheat breat, with non-hydrogenated toffuti cream cheese spread, with organci appricot perserves atop that, then a big pile of spouts, sprinked with baby pumpkin seeds. Amazing!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
