Potatoes and Peaches

Things I Make that Make Me Happy

A Revue of Reviews

Posted by potatoesnpeaches on March 20, 2009

These are just a few random things I’ve buyed and tried recently that are not necessarily new, but they are new to me. Because sometimes I am behind on the new.

 

Road’s End Mac & Chreese Cheddar Style.

I normally just make my own when I want mac’n’cheese, but this was on sale and I was feeling really lazy so I decided to give this a go. I ended up saving it for a weeknight when I was feeling *really* lazy and was not disappointed.

About a year ago, maybe 2, I tried a different style of this and was not impressed, it may have been the Alfredo, and I may have done it wrong. But I’m glad I gave this brand another chance because I just love the weird cheese powder! It’s pink! It’s not pink anymore, it’s freaky orange! I found it delightful. Taste-wise, it’s a lot how I remember Kraft in the blue box tasting, which is a compliment because I used to eat that stuff like every. single. day. 

Verdict: This is excellent if you are deeply lazy.

 

Wildwood Probiotic Raspberry Chipotle Hummus.

I happened upon this while shopping one rainy Sunday afternoon at the vegan store. There are times when I see something and I say to myself, “Self, that is a really freakin’ weird-sounding, you must try it.” That is exaclty what happned when I saw this hummus and I am so glad I listened. The raspberrry chipotle flavor starts off very sweet, almost too sweet, deceptively sweet. Then in the back of your throat this mild but in no way subtle heat starts to build. By the time that happens though you may be on your second bite, and so the cycle happens in a more rapid succession. My favorite way to eat this hummus is a dip for a nice crispy apple like a Braeburn or a Gala. Trust me, it is delicious.

Verdict: Eat it. Eat a lot of it.

 

 

BUILT NY Tortuga Lunch Tote.

This bag is amazing! It looks small but man, can you cram a lot in there. I’ve been able to pack a 3-cup Pyrex container, an apple, a baggie of celery sticks, a small container of dip, and an ice pack in here, no problem. Even without an ice pack, it keeps food nice and cool for several hours (providing you are not picnicking in the desert) and is made of nice, thick Neoprene, which makes it squishy and durable. Also, being made of Neoprene means you can put it over your head and go swimming without worrying about your head getting cold (please let me know if you try this. Send pictures.) It’s a bit pricey at $19.95 over at reusablebags.com, but considering how long this baby should last, it’s a sound investment over my previous cloth lunch bag.

Verdict: You will actually look forward to packing a lunch in this thing.

 

So Delicious Yogurt.

I normally have one soy yogurt brand that I stick to, and that is Trader Joe’s (which is actually Wholesoy). But circumstances being what they were I was not at Trader Joe’s for my weekly grocery shopping, I was at Whole Foods, and I needed yogurt. I ended up with the Cherry Vanilla and Peach flavors of So Delicious, I can’t remember what other flavors were offered but they didn’t seem that appealing. Maybe it’s because I was out of my element. I’m a creature of habit when it comes to grocery shopping. I get nervous when the store I usually shop at switches it’s aisles around. I’ve started shopping at a newer Trader Joe’s and I feel like a stranger in a strange land. Anyway, those are what I got. Flavor-wise, they were okay, a lot sweeter than my usual brand, but also somehow more genuinely fruit-flavored. It was just okay, I could take it or leave it. The texture though, I have to tell you, this is not the texture of yogurt as I know it. It was more like what I imagine it feels like to eat flan. Stirring improved the texture but without stirring it was one homogenous, jelly-like mass. And the weirdest part was when, digging the spoon down just deep enough into the carton, the whole thing would make a – quite frankly- farty noise and sink to the bottom.

Verdict: When it comes to soy yogurt, if it ain’t broken don’t fix it.

Leave a Reply

 
